Along the way…

Travelling solo has mixed blessings.  It seems easier to become absorbed by situations and others,  who seem to want to take you under their wing, into their lives and look after you very readily.  This has been much enjoyed and appreciated. To date the people I have met could not have been kinder, and I have been lucky enough to have been ferried around, taken to places of interest and intreague and welcomed,  almost royally, in people’s homes and lives.
On the other hand I must confess to slight nervousness and trepidation at times when walking around alone, even in the town suburbs, especially bearing in mind there is a gun culture here.  However sensibility prevails and I keep middle of road where possible and never go out at night.
Another thing that keeps me off the more interesting looking streets are the numerous dogs that abound.  They all seen to know their business and be on a mission somewhere,  but equally they seem to have their territories…and I didn’t have a rabies jab.  It occurred to me yesterday that I hadn’t yet seen anybody actually walking their dog- they are either let loose to walk themselves, or in many a case, are kept penned up as guard dogs for the home.
It has been delightful not have met a single foreigner or other tourist in the month I have been here to date. 
One of the advantages of living is a tourist free area with the locals is getting locals prices, from Gym membership to bread rolls at the corner shop.   Brazil may be the most expensive South American country to live in, but it’s still cheaper than England!
I agree with the Brazilians who feel that the only press Brazil has, is a bad press.  The world either sees them as a load of primal indian savages and monkeys, or pretty near naked party exhibitionists (Rio Carnival). Before coming here I only knew Brazil for serious crime, extreme poverty, drugs, prostitution,  slums and corruption.   What there is no exposure on/publicity for, is the beautiful towns and countryside as well as the kind generous natures of the inhabitants, certainly all without exception that I have met to date at least. I doubt the average Brit would have extended the hospitality I have been shown here.  It is especially poignant when you bear in mind we have in general larger disposable incomes and greater affluence,  yet they appear to have greater generosity and heart, with less as such to give.  Makes one feel rather shameful.
However I’ve become used to the ways of life here and look forward to my daily rice with brown beans,  the strong black coffee one takes small glasses of and even the signature tunes of the daily tv soaps.
I now take for granted the parquets that squabble and nest in the eaves above my room and no longer rush to grab my camera.
What I haven’t come to terms with however is the occasional nocturnal cockroach visit and the fact they use cold rather than hot water to wash your hair at the Hairdressers!

Leave a comment